Dr Michael John Vertigan, AC

Chair of the Board Governance Committee, Member of the Audit Committee, Member of the Risk Committee

Reappointed 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2020

  • Director from 1 July 2011 to 2016
  • Chair of the Board Governance Committee
  • Member of the Audit Committee
  • Member of the Risk Committee
  • Director of ARIA Co Pty Ltd

Dr Vertigan has experience in the public, higher education, philanthropy and business sectors. He is the former Chair of the AGEST Superannuation Fund (2004–2008) and former Secretary of the Victorian (1993–1998) and Tasmanian (1989–1993) Departments of Treasury and Finance. He has held a number of academic appointments and is a former Chancellor of the University of Tasmania.

Dr Vertigan was the Independent Chair of the Gas Market Reform Group established by the COAG Energy Council (from 2016 - 2019).He has previously held appointments on corporate boards and on a wide range of Commonwealth, State and Territory government businesses, statutory bodies and advisory panels. He was a Director of CSC from 2011 to 2016 and a member of the ComCare Audit and Risk Committee (2016 - 2019). Dr Vertigan has a Bachelor of Economics (Hons) from the University of Tasmania and a PhD from the University of California (Berkeley). Dr Vertigan was made a Companion of the Order of Australia in 2004. He is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (since 1998) and of the Institute of Public Administration of Australia (since 1994).

Share this article

Next I'd like to...

Corporate Governance

Holding ourselves to your high standards

Learn more


We manage and invest to maximize benefits to members and act in members’ best interest as set out in legislation that governs us.

Learn more

Our investment managers

CSC manages our investment assets through the appointment of a range of specialist investment managers.

Learn more